SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1823

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Luke Rockefeller for receiving a 2008 Prudential Spirit of Community Award.

WHEREAS, Luke Rockefeller, an esteemed resident of Topeka, Kansas, and a senior at Washburn Rural High School, has achieved national recognition for exemplary volunteer service by receiving a 2008 Prudential Spirit of Community Award; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious award, presented by Prudential Financial in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals, honors young volunteers across America who have demonstrated an extraordinary commitment to serving their communities; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Rockefeller was named one of four distinguished finalists out of 4,500 nominations in the state level of competition, and earned this award by giving generously of his time and energy to a free errand-running service to assist local senior citizens who are unable to get out on their own; and

WHEREAS, After obtaining permission from administrators at the Topeka Presbyterian Manor, Mr. Rockefeller made flyers and posters, met with residents to explain his free service and went shopping for groceries and other goods and services needed by his elderly "customers;" and

WHEREAS, The success of the State of Kansas, the strength of our communities, and the overall vitality of American society depend, in great measure, upon the dedication of young people like Mr. Rockefeller, who use their considerable talents and resources to serve others: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Luke Rockefeller as a recipient of a 2008 Prudential Spirit of Community Award, recognize his outstanding record of volunteer service, peer leadership and community spirit, and extend best wishes for his continued success and happiness.

Senate Resolution No. 1823 was sponsored by Senator Vicki Schmidt.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

 President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.