## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1822

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2008 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2008. The seven were honored on February 27 at Emporia State University, the sponsor of the program, with a day of tours, seminars and receptions; and

WHEREAS, The 2008 Kansas Master Teachers are Alice Bertels, a gifted facilitator at Washburn Rural Middle School in Topeka; Lisa Colwell, a mathematics teacher at Hays High School; Lori Goodson, a sophomore English and newspaper teacher at Wamego High School; Ronda Hassig, a library media specialist at Harmony Middle School in Blue Valley; Deborah Nauerth, a gifted education facilitator at Amanda Arnold Elementary, Bluemont Elementary and Lee Elementary schools in Manhattan-Ogden; Shannon Ralph, a biology teacher at Dodge City High School; and Kenna Reeves, a communication and theatre teacher at Emporia State University; and

WHEREAS, Since Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954, 401 educators have been honored. The awards are presented annually to teachers described as having "served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers"; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2008 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the seven 2008 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrated excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Alice Bertels, 3026 SW Arvonia Place, Topeka, KS 66614; Lisa Colwell, 1601 Copper Creek Court, Hays, KS 67601; Lori Goodson, 409 Cherry Circle, Manhattan, KS 66503; Ronda Hassig, 10761 South Cedar Niles Circle, Olathe, KS 66061; Deborah Nauerth, 3800 Boston Circle, Manhattan, KS 66503; Shannon Ralph, 2009 Frederick Drive, Dodge City, KS 67801; and Kenna Reeves, 2301 West 9th Avenue, Emporia, KS 66801.

Senate Resolution No. 1822 was sponsored by Senators Barnett, Allen, Apple, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Emler, Francisco, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jordan, Journey, Kelly, Lee, Lynn, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Palmer, Petersen, Pine, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle, Wilson and Wysong.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.