SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1819

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Blue Valley North High School boys' soccer team for being the 2007 Class 6A State and Regional Champions.

WHEREAS, On November 3, 2007, the Blue Valley North High School boys' soccer team became the 2007 Class 6A State Champions by defeating Olathe South 2 to 0 at the Olathe-College Blvd. Activity Center in Olathe, Kansas; and

WHEREAS, In addition to earning the school's 4th State Championship in school history, the team was also recognized as the 2007 Kansas 6A Regional Champions for the 8th time in the last 9 years and finished the season ranked #1 in the state, #2 in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Region 7, and 15th in the country by NSCAA. The team also finished the year as Co-Champions of the East Kansas League (EKL); and

WHEREAS, The team completed the 2007 season with an overall record of 17-4-0 and a league record of 4-1-0. In 2007, the team scored 49 goals on 33 assists while only allowing 12 goals. The team also won by shutout a total of 12 times; and

WHEREAS, The Blue Valley North High School boys' soccer team is comprised of Seniors Brandon Cosner, Braxton Vanlandingham, Austin Re, Taylor Miller, Michael Shadfar, Phillip Baylog, Connor Line, J.C. Hamilton, Seth Hermanson, Matt Matsch, Nick Tygard and Andrew Kirby; Juniors C.J. Heinz, Brandon Kempin, Nicky Krueger, Max Magee, Bob Drown, Adam Wagner and Cameron Daniels; Sophomores Erik Norburg, Daniel Baylog, Tom White and Nate Kalberer; and Freshmen Jon Kempin and Tyler Cook; and

WHEREAS, Members of the team received the following awards and accolades: All EKL honorable mention recipients Brandon Cosner and Connor Line; All EKL 2nd team recipients Phillip Baylog and Braxton Vanlandingham; All EKL 1st team recipients Andrew Kirby, Matt Matsch, Taylor Miller, Austin Re and Michael Shadfar; EKL Co-Defensive player of the year Andrew Kirby; All Sun Country honorable mention recipient Phillip Baylog; All Sun Country 2nd team recipients Austin Re and Michael Shadfar; and All Sun Country 1st team recipients Andrew Kirby, Matt Matsch and Taylor Miller; All Johnson County honorable mention recipients Taylor Miller, Austin Re and Braxton Vanlandingham; All Johnson County 2nd team recipient Michael Shadfar; All Johnson County 1st team recipients Andrew Kirby and Matt Matsch; All Northeast Kansas Soccer Coaches Association (NEKSCA) 2nd team recipients Austin Re and Michael Shadfar; All NEKSCA 1st team recipients Andrew Kirby and Matt Matsch; All NEKSCA Academic distinguished honors (3.25 minimum GPA) J.C. Hamilton, Connor Line, Matt Matsch, Taylor Miller and Austin Re; All NEKSCA Academic outstanding honors (3.75 minimum GPA) Nick Tygard; and All NEKSCA Academic 1st team (4.0 minimum GPA) Phillip Baylog and Brandon Cosner; All State 2nd team recipients Austin Re and Michael Shadfar; All State 1st team recipients Andrew Kirby and Matt Matsch; All Metro honorable mention recipient Michael Shadfar; All Metro 2nd team recipient Matt Matsch; All Metro 1st team recipient Andrew Kirby; NSCAA All Midwest recipient Andrew Kirby; and NSCAA All American 2nd team recipient Andrew Kirby; and

WHEREAS, The team was led by Head Coach Tom Holland; Junior Varsity Coach Mark Chonko; C-Navy Coach Dylan Hitchcock; C-Silver Coach Tim Wiseman; and C-White Coach Jim Rosenburger: Now, therefore.

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Blue Valley North High School boys' soccer team for being the 2007 Class 6A State and Regional Champions and for achieving such a high standard of excellence in their sport; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 33 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Vratil.

Senate Resolution No. 1819 was sponsored by Senator John Vratil.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.