SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1810

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2008 Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Thirty-two beginning educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Horizon Award Program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, currently in its sixth year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for a Kansas Horizon Award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Kansas Horizon Award Program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's United States congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are:

Region 1: Lacy Cleveland, White City High School, Rural Vista, USD 481; Jessica Curl, McPherson High School, McPherson, USD 418; Jennifer Davis, Marysville Jr/Sr High School, Marysville, USD 364; Shane Heiman, Village Elementary School, Emporia, USD 253; Chris Michel, Heusner Elementary School, Salina, USD 305; Rebecca Schippers, Junction City High School, Geary County, USD 475; Jacqueline Schnell, Eisenhower Elementary School, Great Bend, USD 428; Jennifer Stokely, Faris Elementary School, Hutchinson, USD 308; and

Region 2: Chris Daniels, Washburn Rural High School, Auburn-Washburn, USD 437; Matthew Herbert, Highland Park High School, Topeka, USD 501; Nichole Honeywell, Atchison Middle School, Atchison, USD 409; Joy McGhee, Winfield Scott Elementary School, Fort Scott, USD 234; Ryan Paget, Shawnee Heights High School, Shawnee Heights, USD 450; Chelsea Richmond, Burlingame Elementary School, Burlingame, USD 454; Molly Strathman, Hiawatha Elementary School, Hiawatha, USD 415; Kara Van Dyke, Atchison Elementary School, Atchison, USD 409; and

Region 3: Eileen Gorup, Blue Valley Middle School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Elizabeth Milam, Piper East Elementary School, Piper-Kansas City, USD 203; Erin Nichols, Edwardsville Elementary School, Edwardsville, USD 204; Katherine O'Toole, Sunflower Elementary School, Gardner Edgerton, USD 231; Sean Red Corn, Shawnee Mission West High School, Shawnee Mission, USD 512; Shara Reilly, Mize Elementary School, DeSoto, USD 232; Jennifer Schmidt, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner Edgerton, USD 231; Jason Springer, Lawrence Free State High School, Lawrence, USD 497; and

Region 4: Jill Augustyn, Cheney Middle School, Cheney, USD 268; Kristen Bender, Maize Elementary School, Maize, USD 266; Tamara Cassidy, Jefferson Elementary School, Arkansas City, USD 470; Effie Conway, Anderson Elementary School, Wichita, USD 259; Kristen Crank, Augusta Middle School, Augusta, USD 402; Philip Edelman, Goddard Middle School, Goddard, USD 265; Rob Klem, El Dorado High School, El Dorado, USD 490; Derrick Richling, Walton 21st Century Rural Life Charter, Newton, USD 373: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2008 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 32 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each educator so honored plus one copy for the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1810 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.