SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1809

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2007 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers.

WHEREAS, Thirty-four of Kansas' finest educators have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers. They will be recognized as such at a program on February 21; and

WHEREAS, The 2007 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers are: Tanya Belcher, Linwood Elementary School, Wichita, USD 259; Garie Brownrigg, Garnett Elementary School, Garnett, USD 365; Karen Burrell, Wichita North High School, Wichita, USD 259; Heather Caswell, Village Elementary School, Emporia, USD 253; Gaye Coburn, Wichita North High School, Wichita, USD 259; Kelly Deters, Shawnee Heights High School, Shawnee Heights, USD 450; Terri Durgan, Quail Run Elementary School, Lawrence, USD 497; Janet Fansher, Overland Trail Elementary School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Kelly Frederick, Wichita North High School, Wichita, USD 259; Jeffery Freund, Wichita North High School, Wichita, USD 259; Jennifer Gessley, Overland Trail Elementary School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Tennele Hankins, Curtis Middle School, Wichita, USD 259; Angela Hedges, Olathe Northwest High School, Olathe, USD 233; Tiffany Hicks, Garfield Elementary School, Parsons, USD 503; Debra Hotujac, Cedar Hills Elementary School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Amber Jones, Wichita North High School, Wichita, USD 259; Paula Lane, Clay Center Community Middle School, Clay Center, USD 379; Suzanne Leikam, Roosevelt Elementary School, Hays, USD 489; Teresa Lindberg, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Kimberley Liotta, Marlatt Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden, USD 383; Mary Naumann, Jefferson West Middle School, Jefferson West, USD 340; Michell Piva, Garfield Elementary School, Parsons, USD 503; Dawn Quintanar, Marlatt Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden, USD 383; John Ritchie, Wamego Middle School, Wamego, USD 320; Kari Ritter, Lundgren Elementary School, Topeka, USD 501; Gayle Ross, Scarborough Elementary School, Olathe, USD 233; Donna Szymkowski, Lakewood Elementary School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Tara Thomas, Marlatt Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden, USD 383; Michelle Thrower, Cedar Creek Elementary School, Olathe, USD 233; Barbara Williams, Wichita North High School, Wichita, USD 259; Rebekah Winter, Wichita South High School, Wichita, USD 259; Alyson Young, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Patricia Zimmerman, Perry-Lecompton Middle School, Perry, USD 343; Shanna Zimmerman, Wichita East High School, Wichita, USD 259; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, a voluntary process established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, is a symbol of professional teaching excellence. It is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practice. Through a series of assessments, teachers demonstrate their subject matter knowledge, provide evidence that they know how to teach their subjects to students most effectively, and demonstrate their ability to manage and measure student learning; and

WHEREAS, The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and nongovernmental organization. Its mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; and advocating related education reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend each of these outstanding educators who have attained the status of National Board Certified Teachers; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 34 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored plus a copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1809 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf.

Ι	hereb	v certif	y that t	he above	RESOLUTION	originated	in the	SENATE,	and v	vas ado	pted b	y that	body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.