## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1808

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2007 Independence High School boys' soccer team.

WHEREAS, The Independence High School boys' soccer team won the 2007 Kansas State High School Athletic Association Class 4-3-2-1A state championship by defeating Buhler High School 2-1 in overtime on Saturday, November 4, 2007; and

WHEREAS, The state championship win ended the team's best season in its seven-year history with a record of 17-1-1, including a 14 game winning streak; and

WHEREAS, The team members are seniors Dylan Craft, Dan Gross, Christian Pinon, Sam Schroeder and Michael Ysusi; juniors Dalton Friesen, Josh Bromley, Phillip Byrd, Shane Ferguson, Brent Alvarez and Ryan Hayes; sophomores Connor Cushing, Cole Cranor, Tyler Sprague, Talyn Austin, Wes Goodrich, Kris High, Matt Wallis, Mason Posch, Cameron Schicke, Austin Schroeder, Bry Thomas, Marcus Wright and Kyle Forris; and freshmen Terry Bacon, Garrett Gilstrap, Jarett Gaddy, Chase Cushing, Garrett Webster, Tori Kebert, Chris Burnside, Judith Kyle, Audrey Tucker, Matt Wilson, Patrick Wuerdeman and T.J. Honan; and

WHEREAS, Senior Dan Gross scored the game-winning goal in the fourth minute of overtime to win the state title; and  $\,$ 

WHEREAS, The championship team's head coach is Eric Haislett and assistant coach is Nick McBride; and

WHEREAS, Through their hard work and dedication, the members of this championship team have received well deserved recognition from their community and the state for demonstrating high standards of sportsmanship and tremendous athletic ability: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Independence High School boys' soccer team for winning the 2007 Class 4-3-2-1A state championship; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate provide 42 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Derek Schmidt for presentation to the team and coaches.

Senate Resolution No. 1808 was sponsored by Senator Derek Schmidt.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.