## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1874

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Olathe East High School girls' Cross Country team for being the 2006 Class 6A State Champions.

WHEREAS, The Olathe East High School girls' Cross Country team became the 2006 Class 6A State Champions with a team total of 74 points, outdistancing second place Manhattan High School which had 90 points, and third place Blue Valley Northwest which had 97 points; and

WHEREAS, The team is comprised of: Seniors Amanda Miller, Riley Wertenberger, Kourtney Schippers, Sarah Keearns, Stephanie Weir, Natalie King and Kaley Hagemann; Juniors Ashlee Lamar, Jordan Null and Vicki Behnen; Sophomores Casey Epps, Lana Thompson, Bree Bohaty and Nikki Reigel; and Freshmen Kara Bartels, Darci Miller and Brenda Ellis; and

WHEREAS, The team was led by Head Coach Tony Bozarth, Assistant Coaches Glenn Daniels and Shanna Hicks and managed by Michaela Barry; and

WHEREAS, In addition to winning the 2006 Class 6A State Championship, the team also won championships at the Blue Valley Invitational, Olathe North Invitational, Missouri Southern Stampede, Shawnee Mission North Invitational and Haskell Invitational and was the Sunflower League Champions: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That the Olathe East High School girls' Cross Country team be congratulated and commended for being the 2006 Class 6A State Champions and for achieving a high degree of excellence in their sport; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate provide 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Brownlee.

Senate Resolution No. 1874 was sponsored by Senators Brownlee, Lynn and Wilson.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.