## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1873

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Olathe East High School girls' softball team for being the 2006 Class 6A State Champions.

WHEREAS, On May 27, 2006, the Olathe East High School girls' softball team became the 2006 Class 6A State Champions by defeating Maize 6 to 1 at Two-Rivers Stadium in Wichita, Kansas; and

WHEREAS, This is the team's 3rd straight State Championship and the 5th Championship in the school's history; and

WHEREAS, In addition to being 2006 Class 6A State Champions, the team also finished their 2006 season as Sunflower League and Regional Champions; and

WHEREAS, The team completed the 2006 season with an impressive overall record of 24 wins and only one loss. In the last three years, the team has an astounding record of 81 wins and only two losses; and

WHEREAS, The Olathe East High School girls' softball team was comprised of Seniors Alex Hupp (1st Team All-American selection) and Ashlyn Smith; Juniors Haley Brown, Kelsea Garthoff and Ashley Guile (1st Team All-American selection); Sophomores Jacqueline Black, Michaela Hupp, Emily Gerstner, Eryn Shorthouse, Ashley Stout, Kristen Rock and Katie Klug; Freshmen Michelle Ingles, Kendall Grimm, and Jessica Brooks; and

WHEREAS, The team was led by Head Coach Jeff Hulse; Assistant Coaches Amber Magee, Kevin Mays, and Lee Sappingfield; and Coach's Assistant Claire Flynn: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Olathe East High School girls' softball team be congratulated and commended for being the 2006 Class 6A State Champions and for achieving such a high standard of excellence in their sport; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Brownlee.

Senate Resolution No. 1873 was sponsored by Senators Brownlee, Lynn and Wilson.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.