SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1872

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Dennis Burkett and Jeff Zimmerman for being named 2007 Kansas Horizon Award educators.

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Horizon Award program is to recognize exemplary firstyear teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program, currently in its fifth year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for a Kansas Horizon Award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Kansas Horizon Award program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's United States congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, Among those receiving this award were two winners from Olathe, Kansas: Dennis Burkett, a chemistry teacher at Olathe South High School, and Jeff Zimmerman, a physical education teacher at Ravenwood Elementary; and

WHEREAS, Dennis obtained his Bachelors degree in Chemistry from Point Loma Nazarene University in 1995, his Masters in Theological Studies from Nazarene Theological Seminary in 2001, and another Bachelor's degree in Secondary Education from the University of Missouri Kansas City in 2005. Jeff graduated from Emporia State University in 2004 with a degree in Physical/ Health Education. Both Jeff and Dennis have been teaching in the Olathe school district since 2005: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That Dennis Burkett and Jeff Zimmerman be congratulated and commended for being named 2007 Kansas Horizon Award educators and for such outstanding performances in their first year as teachers; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 2 copies of this resolution to Senator Brownlee.

Senate Resolution No. 1872 was sponsored by Senators Brownlee, Lynn and Wilson.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.