SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1858

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Thomas More Prep-Marian boys basketball team on winning the 2007 Class 4A State Championship.

WHEREAS, On March 10, 2007, the Thomas More Prep-Marian boys basketball team, known as the "Monarchs," became Class 4A State Champions; and

WHEREAS, Led by head coach Joe Hertel and assistant coach Chris Drees and anchored by a senior class consisting of nine members, the Monarchs never trailed in the Class 4A State Championship game against Fort Scott; and

WHEREAS, Members of the team include: Austin Budke, Greg Diehl, Andy Hammeke, Kyle Hammerschmidt, Drew Hertel, Nolan Hoffman, David Lang, Nolan McNeil, Trevor Ottley, Josh Post, Scot Stramel and Kyle Werth; and

WHEREAS, Four senior starters for the Monarchs received all-league first team selections, including: Point guard Greg Diehl; forward Kyle Hammerschmidt; guard Nolan Hoffman; and center Trevor Ottley. Senior starting forward Josh Post was named to the honorable mention team; and

WHEREAS, This was the second state championship for the Monarchs in four years, as they also won the 2003 Class 3A State Championship; and

WHEREAS, The Thomas More Prep-Marian boys basketball team finished the 2007 season with an impressive record of 24 wins and only 1 loss for the entire season: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Thomas More Prep-Marian boys basketball team for winning the 4A state championship and for completing such an impressive season.

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 14 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Lee.

Senate Resolution No. 1858 was sponsored by Senator Janis K. Lee.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

_	President of the Senate.
_	Secretary of the Senate.