## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1850

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the South Haven High School girls basketball team.

WHEREAS, The South Haven High School girls basketball team won the 2007 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 1A State Basketball Championship. The Lady Cardinals were crowned with the 1A State Title after defeating the Centralia Panthers 45 to 41 at Gross Coliseum in Hays on March 10. This victory was the school's first state title in any sport; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Cardinals finished the season with a perfect record of 28 wins and no losses. The team became only the 12th girls team in Class 1A history to be crowned undefeated state champions; and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding basketball team are: Breanna Bryant, Sara Bryant, Brianna Byers, Tina Clausen, Tricia Cook, Beth Davidson, Breanna McConnell, Katie Meeker, Kari Rinehart, Kati Rinehart, Victoria Walcher and Andrea Yunker. The head coach is David Hughes; the assistant coach is Tiffany Cole; and the team managers are Bryce Byers, Sarah Cummings, Cassie Dvorak and Katelyn Edwards; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team was due to its hard-nosed defense, excellent teamwork and determination to win. The school also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' families and many area residents: Now, therefore

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the South Haven High School girls basketball team be congratulated and commended for winning the 2007 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 1A State Basketball Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Greta Goodwin for presentation to the South Haven High School girls basketball team and Principal/Athletic Director Kim White.

Senate Resolution No. 1850 was sponsored by Senator Greta Goodwin.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body  $\,$ 

 President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.