SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1847

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2007 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2007. The seven were honored on March 7 at Emporia State University, the sponsor of the program, with a day of tours, seminars and receptions; and

WHEREAS, The 2007 Kansas Master Teachers are Rob Davis, an enrichment specialist at Liberty View Elementary School in Olathe; Robin Dixon, a sixth grade teacher at Jay Shideler Elementary School in Topeka; Shelley R. Faerber, a seventh grade language arts teacher at Susan B. Anthony Middle School in Manhattan; Diane Ladenburger, a kindergarten teacher at Mattie O. Haskins Elementary School in Pratt; Marilyn McComber, a science teacher at Emporia High School in Emporia; Angela K. Miller, a math teacher at Junction City Middle School in Junction City; and Elouise Miller, a kindergarten teacher at Lincoln Elementary School in Hays; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to teachers described as having "served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers"; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2007 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the seven 2007 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrated excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Rob Davis, 14800 Greenwood, Olathe, Kansas 66062; Robin Dixon, 4948 SW Wanamaker, Topeka, Kansas 66610; Shelley Faerber, 2501 Browning Avenue, Manhattan, Kansas 66502; Diane Ladenburger, 900 School, Pratt, Kansas 67124-1466; Marilyn McComber, 3302 W. 18th, Emporia, Kansas 66801; Angela K. Miller, 300 W. 9th, Junction City, Kansas 66441; and Elouise Miller, 1906 Ash, Hays, Kansas 67601.

Senate Resolution No. 1847 was sponsored by Senators Barnett, Allen, Apple, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Emler, Francisco, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jordan, Journey, Kelly, Lee, Lynn, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Palmer, Petersen, Pine, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle, Wilson and Wysong.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.