SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1842

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the St. John High School boys basketball team.

WHEREAS, The St. John High School boys basketball team won the 2007 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 2A State Basketball Championship. The Tigers were crowned with the 2A State Title after defeating the Pittsburg-St. Mary's-Colgan Panthers 51 to 46 in Bramlage Coliseum on March 10; and

WHEREAS, After struggling early in the season with one win and three losses, the Tigers finished their season with a record of 21 wins and only five losses; and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding basketball team have received statewide recognition for their fine sportsmanship and athletic abilities. This excellent achievement was a result of efforts by team members: Jordan Bauer, Derek Burgan, Andy Fanshier, Jake Fanshier, Josh Hildebrand, Tyler Meyer, Lyal Miller, Nathan Miller, Ryan Minnis, Travis Neidig, Colorado Shields and Brent Staub. The head coach and athletic director was Clint Kinnamon; the assistant coach was Derek Sanders; and the team managers/trainers were Katie Moore, Jesse VanDoran and Kade Kinnamon; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team was due to its hard-nosed defense, excellent teamwork and determination to win. The school also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' families and many area residents: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the St. John High School basketball team and Coach Kinnamon be congratulated and commended for winning the 2007 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 2A State Basketball Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Ruth Teichman for presentation to the St. John High School boys basketball team members and coaches.

Senate Resolution No. 1842 was sponsored by Senator Ruth Teichman.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.