SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1836

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending E. Carolyn Rampey.

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey retired on December 29, 2006, after serving the Kansas Legislature over 34 years in the Kansas Legislative Research Department; and

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey commenced working for the Legislative Research Department in October 1972 as a Research Assistant, and because of her outstanding analytical and research skills was promoted to Research Analyst in 1974, and Principal Analyst

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey was hired by James W. Drury, Director of the Legislative Research Department, and continued to serve under the directorships of Phil E. Jones, Richard W. Ryan, Ben F. Barrett, and Alan D. Conroy, providing valuable counsel to these directors and to her many colleagues; and

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey was known throughout the Legislature for her years of commitment to public education and post-secondary education; and in these areas she worked with a wide variety of issues including school governance, school finance, community colleges, area vocational schools, student tuition, student financial assistance, teacher preparation, teacher certification, qualified admissions, local school consolidation, and gifted student programs; and became a key staff resource for the Legislature in the area of education; and

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey in her work on educational issues before the Legislature had the opportunity to work with the

Office of Revisor of Statutes in providing valuable background information for the drafting of legislation related to education in Kansas; and while assisting the Office of Revisor of Statutes with education and budget issues, she worked closely with the Revisor staff, including Avis A. Swartzman, Fred J. Carman, Norman J. Furse, James A. "Bunky" Wilson III, and Theresa M. Kiernan; and WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey also served the Legislature as a fiscal analyst since the 1985 Session of the Legislature, gained expertise in fiscal affairs of state government, and was responsible for fiscal analysis for many state agencies, including the Department of Education, the Judicial Branch, Judicial Council, Board of Indigents Defense Services, Office of Attorney General, State Historical Society, Kansas Corporation Commission, Citizen Utility Ratepayer Board, School for the Deaf, School for the Blind, and numerous fee funded boards; and through her service to legislative committees she collaborated with various Commissioners of Education, Deputy Commissioner of Education Dale Dennis, Chief Justice Kay McFarland, members and staff of the Kansas Board of Regents, and multiple Kansas Attorneys General; and

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey was the lead staff member for the Legislative Educational Planning Committee, also known as the 1202 Commission; and while staffing the Commission she served as Acting Director of the Commission and was responsible for writing and submitting federal grant applications, making regular reports to the U.S. Department of Health, Education and Welfare, and compiling for the Commission special reports such as the Washburn University Feasibility Study and the Nursing Education Report;

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey was the consummate professional; her analytical skills were matched only by her quick wit and skilled diplomacy, and she was masterful at anticipating issues and being able to explain complex public policy issues in easily under-

standable language; and
WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey was instrumental in compiling more than a dozen studies on changing the governance structure
of the State Board of Education, none of which were enacted by the Legislature and approved by the voters of Kansas; and

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey has, as a testament to her fiscal skills, the increase in State General Fund support for public education in Kansas including a boost of more than 350 percent in state support of local school districts from \$621.2 million in FY 1986 to \$2.8 billion in FY 2007; and

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey earned a Bachelor's degree in Political Science in 1967 and a Master's degree in Political Science in 1970, both from Wichita State University, Wichita, Kansas; and authored her master's thesis entitled *Correlates of Judicial Alienation*; and while at Wichita State University worked closely with faculty members Dr. John H. Millett, Dr. James W. McKinney, and Dr. Marvin A. Harder; and

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey in 1971 and 1972 was a Research Assistant for Dr. Marvin A. Harder and co-authored a book with him on the Kansas Legislature: The Kansas Legislature: Procedures, Personalities, and Problems, which is still considered one of the definitive works on the Kansas Legislature; and

WHEREAS, E. Carolyn Rampey has served the Legislative Branch with distinction and now is embarking on a new chapter in her life: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate, commend, and thank E. Carolyn Rampey for her 34 years of devoted service to the state of Kansas and for the legacy of professional excellence she leaves after her many years as a Principal Analyst of the Kansas Legislative Research Department; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to E. Carolyn Rampey, 36 SW Pepper Tree Lane, Topeka, Kansas 66611; Jim Rampey, 2545 Borton Lane, Santa Barbara, California 93109; Margaret Rampey, 534 Lake Forest, Bonner Springs, Kansas 66012; Mildred Maupin, 2910 Euclid, Wichita, Kansas 67217; Martha Biggs, 202 Osage Road, Derby, Kansas 67037; and Ruth Dobbs, 1803 Old Mill Court, Greenville, North Carolina 27858.

Senate Resolution No. 1836 was sponsored by Senators Allen, Apple, Barnett, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Emler, Francisco, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jordan, Journey, Kelly, Lee, Lynn, McGinn, Morris, Ostmeyer, Palmer, Petersen, Pine, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle, Wilson and Wysong.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.