SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1828

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Silver Lake Senior High School football team.

WHEREAS, The Silver Lake Senior High School football team won the 2006 Kansas State High School Activities Association class 3A football championship; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles defeated the Garden Plain Owls 49 to 21 in the championship game, which was held in Salina on November 25, 2006. This long-awaited championship came after four consecutive years of second-place finishes; and

WHEREAS, The championship team was led by seniors Austin Abbott, Andrew Brunner, Jason Corwin, Nick DeSouza, Josh Glotzbach, Brian Hill, Spencer Hinson, Evan Malloy, Cody Meier, Marty Pfannenstiel, Chad Ray, Keaton Taylor, Andrew Tripp, Jared Wall and manager Matt Haverkamp. The other members of this outstanding football team were: Eddie Avila, Justin Bachman, Josh Baden, Gabe Battis, Derek Bledsoe, Warren Bledsoe, Quinn Bruce, Wes Burdiek, Dustin Campbell, Ethan Cray, Garrett Cummings, Brian Deiter, Dylan Gragert, Michael Hamilton, Brian Hanson, Alex Hawkins, Tony Hawkins, Cody Johnson, D.J. Johnson, Clint Jones, Colby Killinger, Andy Knudsen, Brett LaMar, Cameron Lambert, Jordan Lambert, Jace Lowe, Jay McDaniel, Jason Mellies, Shawn Merilatt, Justin Morgan, Drake Muncie, Logan Pegram, Joe Priddy, Cameron Renfro, Tyler Roberts, Josh Rosebaugh, Tyler Roth, Randy Rudolph, Devin Smith, Tyler Smith, Trae Stebbins, Casey Swartz, Marshall Wetta, Adam Wetzel, Kyle Wichman, Tyler White and Luke Ziegler. The victory was attained under the leadership and direction of head coach C.J. Hamilton and assistant coaches Pat Brewster, Loren Ziegler and Mark Workman; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team was due to its excellent teamwork, strong competitive spirit and determination to win. The team also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Silver Lake Senior High School football team and coaches Hamilton, Brewster, Ziegler, Bledsoe, and Workman upon being the 2006 Kansas State High School Activities Association class 3A state champions and wish them continued success; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Mr. Larry Winter, Principal, Silver Lake Senior High School, 200 E. Lake, Silver Lake, KS 66539.

Senate Resolution No. 1828 was sponsored by Senator Laura Kelly.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.