## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1816

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2007 Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Thirty-two beginning educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Horizon Award educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Horizon Award program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program, currently in its fifth year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for a Kansas Horizon Award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Kansas Horizon Award program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's United States congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are:

Region 1: Amy Coffman, Lowther North Intermediate School, Emporia, USD 253; Angela Cordill, McCandless Elementary School, Hutchinson, USD 308; Kathryn Kinnan, Junction City Middle School, Geary County, USD 475; Tabitha Peterson, Emporia High School, Emporia, USD 253; Shanna Riecker, Garden City High School, Garden City, USD 457; Alycia Ryff, Southeast of Saline High School, Southeast of Saline, USD 306; Jeff Voss, Prosperity Elementary School, Buhler, USD 313; Tamara Wynn, Trego Grade School, WaKeeney, USD 208; and

Region 2: Sherri Farwell, Indian Creek Elementary School, Seaman, USD 345; Ruschelle Gunlock, Galena High School, Galena, USD 499; Alison Hall, Ottawa High School, Ottawa, USD 290; Wes Pike, Manhattan High School, Manhattan-Ogden, USD 383; Jeffrey Pommier, Eugene Ware Elementary School, Fort Scott, USD 234; Usha Reddi, Ogden Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden, USD 383; Emily Stueve, Logan Jr. High School, Seaman, USD 345; David Warner, Seneca Grade School, Nemaha Valley, USD 442; and

Region 3: Darcy Baker, Wheatridge Middle School, Gardner Edgerton, USD 231; Anne Balser-Andrews, Lindbergh Elementary School, Kansas City, USD 500; Dennis Burkett, Olathe South High School, Olathe, USD 233; Jill Landes Gouger, Blue Valley High School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Meghan Luttrell, Indian Valley Elementary School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Margaret Mosher, Madison Elementary School, Gardner Edgerton, USD 231; Kevin Smiley, Monticello Trails Middle School, DeSoto, USD 232; Jeff Zimmerman, Ravenwood Elementary School, Olathe, USD 233; and

Region 4: Ashleigh Bennett, Frances Willard Elementary School, Arkansas City, USD 470; Leslianne Craft, Dean Ray Stucky Middle School, Wichita, USD 259; Jenae Crowley, Meadowlark Elementary School, Andover, USD 385; Micah Friesen, Nelson Elementary School, Haysville, USD 261; Julie Johnson, Circle Middle School, Circle, USD 375; Kara Maxwell, Gardiner Elementary School, Wichita, USD 259; Erica Rickard, Newton High School, Newton, USD 373; Amber Riedy, Andover Middle School, Andover, USD 385: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2007 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 32 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Interim Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each educator so honored plus one copy for the Interim Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1816 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that	
body	
•	

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.