SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1815

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2006 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers.

WHEREAS, Thirty-six of Kansas' finest educators have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers. They will be recognized as such at a program on February 22; and

WHEREAS, The 2006 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers are: Margaret Anderson, Atchison Elementary School, Atchison Public Schools, USD 409; Susan Carpenter, Marlatt Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden, USD 383; Robert Compton, North High School, Wichita, USD 259; Cynthia Couchman, Buhler High School, Buhler, USD 313; Robin Dixon, Jay Shideler Elementary School, Auburn Washburn, USD 437; Gentry Doggendorf, Buhler High School, Buhler, USD 313; Christine Eaton, Starside Elementary School, DeSoto, USD 232; Richard Gill, Blue Valley High School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Christian Goering, Manhattan High School West/East Campus, Manhattan-Ogden, USD 383; Julie Grecian, Easton Elementary School, Easton, USD 449; Martha Hilley, Stafford Elementary School, Stafford, USD 349; Catherine Hoopes, Franklin Elementary School, Wichita, USD 259; Deborah Jaeger, Prairie Trail Jr. High School, Olathe, USD 233; Yvonne James, Oak Hill Elementary School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Cora Kenyon, Manhattan High School West/East Campus, Manhattan-Ogden, USD 383; Sharon Landrum, Santa Fe Middle School, Newton, USD 373; Ronald Leikam, Hays High School, Hays, USD 489; Mary Lonker, Wamego High School, Wamego, USD 320; Judy Mareda, Benton Elementary School, Wichita, USD 259; Deborah Nauerth, Amanda Arnold Elementary School, Manhattan, USD 383; Kelly Nehring, Wamego High School, Wamego, USD 320; Ann Nelson, Blue River Elementary School, Blue Valley, USD 229; Dennis Newell, Emporia Middle School, Emporia, USD 253; Juli O'Mealey-Hossain, Indian Hills Middle School, Shawnee Mission, USD 512; Shane Phillips, Heights High School, Wichita, USD 259; Karen Rogers, Olathe North Sr. High School, Olathe, USD 233; Robyn Seglem, Trailridge Middle School, Shawnee Mission, USD 512; Lynda Snyder, Northwest High School, Wichita, USD 259; Lori Stratton, Wamego High School, Wamego, USD 320; Stacie Valdez, North High School, Wichita, USD 259; Janel Walker, Prairie Hills Middle School, Buhler, USD 313; Kristine Wanamaker, Wanamaker Elementary School, Auburn Washburn, USD 437; Jane Waterson, Auburn Elementary School, Auburn Washburn, USD 437; Bruce Wellman, Olathe South Sr. High School, Olathe, USD 233; Shelbie Witte, Fort Riley Middle School, Geary County Schools, USD 475; Maria Worthington, Blue Valley North High School, Blue Valley, USD 229; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, a voluntary process established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, is a symbol of professional teaching excellence. It is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practice. Through a series of assessments teachers demonstrate their subject matter knowledge, provide evidence that they know how to teach their subjects to students most effectively, and demonstrate their ability to manage and measure student learning; and

WHEREAS, The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, non-partisan and nongovernmental organization. Its mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; and advocating related education reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend each of these outstanding educators who have attained the status of National Board Certified Teachers; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 36 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Interim Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored plus a copy to the Interim Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1815 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that be	oted by that body
---	-------------------

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate