HOUSE BILL No. 2152

An Act concerning the commission on emergency planning and response; amending K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 65-5721 and repealing the existing section.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 65-5721 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-5721. (a) On the effective date of this order, There is hereby established the commission on emergency planning and response.

- (b) The membership of the commission on emergency planning and response shall consist of the agency head or secretary or a designated person of authority from the following agencies:
 - (1) the fire marshal;
 - (2) the department of health and environment;
 - (3) the department of transportation;
 - (4) the Kansas highway patrol;
 - (5) the adjutant general; and
 - (6) the department of commerce;
 - (7) the Kansas bureau of investigation;
 - (8) the Kansas department of agriculture; and
 - (9) the Kansas animal health department.
- (9) the Kansas animal health department.
- (c) In addition, the membership of the commission on emergency planning and response shall also consist of seven 18 members appointed by the governor as follows:
- (1) Two individuals One individual shall be representative of counties;
 - (2) two individuals one individual selected to represent cities; and
- (3) three individuals selected to represent businesses and industries, one of which represents broadcasting;
 - (4) one individual selected to represent agriculture, crop or livestock;
- (5) one individual selected to represent transportation, trucking or rail;
 - (6) one individual selected to represent energy;
 - (7) one individual selected to represent law enforcement officers;
 - (8) one individual selected to represent fire fighters;
 - (9) one individual selected to represent county emergency managers;
 - (10) one individual selected to represent emergency medical services;
 - (11) one individual selected to represent public works services;
 - (12) one individual selected to represent hospitals;
 - (13) one individual selected to represent public health;
 - (14) one individual selected to represent the tribes of Kansas;
- (15) one individual selected to represent individuals with disabilities; and
- (16) one individual selected to represent the seven regional homeland security councils.
- (d) A designee of the adjutant general shall serve as the secretary of the commission on emergency planning and response. The adjutant general shall provide staff support for the commission on emergency planning and response
- (e) Of the members first appointed to the commission on emergency planning and response by the governor, one representative of cities, one representative of counties, and one representative of business and industry shall serve a term of two years, and the remainder of the members appointed by the governor shall serve terms of three years. Thereafter, members who represent cities, counties, and business and industry appointed pursuant to subsection (c) shall serve terms of four years and until the successor has been appointed. Any vacancy in the office of an appointed member shall be filled for the unexpired term by appointment by the governor.
- $\dot{}$ (f) $\dot{}$ A chairperson shall be elected annually by the members of the commission. A vice-chairperson shall be designated by the chairperson to serve in the absence of the chairperson.
- (g) For attending meetings of such commission, or attending a sub-committee meeting thereof authorized by such commission, those members of the commission appointed by the governor shall be paid compensation, subsistence allowances, mileage and other expenses as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto.

House Bill No. 2152—page 2

- Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 65-5721 is hereby repealed.

 Sec. 3. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its publication in the statute book.

I hereby certify that the above BILL originated in the HOUSE, and passed that body

HOUSE concurred in SENATE amendments	
	Speaker of the House.
	Chief Clerk of the House.
Passed the SENATE as amended	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.
Approved	
	Governor.