SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1856

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2005-2006 Wichita State University mens basketball team and Head Coach Mark Turgeon.

WHEREAS, The Wichita State University mens basketball team was the Missouri Valley Conference champion this year, the first time since 1983, and was selected as an at-large participant in the 2006 NCAA national basketball tournament; and

WHEREAS, At the big dance the team surprised most of America by defeating Seton Hall 86 to 66 and Tennessee 80 to 73. The team advanced to the Sweet 16 but was defeated by George Mason, a Final Four participant, 63 to 55 in the Washington, D.C. regional tournament. The team ended the season ranked number 21 in the final ESPN/USA Today Coaches Poll—the first top 25 rating for the team since 1984; and

WHEREAS, Paul Miller was named an honorable mention All-American, as well as the Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Year. He was also named as a first team Scholar-Athlete. P.J. Cousinard and Kyle Wilson were both honorable mentions to the All-Missouri Valley Conference team, Karon Bradley was selected to the Missouri Valley Conference All-Newcomer team and Ryan Martin to the All-Missouri Valley Conference Bench team; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Mark Turgeon was named the Missouri Valley Conference Rawlings Coach of the Year and is the only Shocker coach to improve his win record for five consecutive years: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2005-2006 Wichita State University mens basketball team and Head Coach Mark Turgeon upon being the Missouri Valley Conference champion and in advancing in the NCAA national tournament to the Sweet 16, and wish them continued success in the future.

Senate Resolution No. 1856 was sponsored by Senators Journey, Allen, Apple, Barnett, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Emler, Francisco, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jordan, Kelly, Lee, McGinn, Morris, O'Connor, Ostmeyer, Palmer, Petersen, Pine, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle, Wilson and Wysong.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.