SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1850

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2006 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2006. The seven were honored on March 29 at Emporia State University, the sponsor of the program, with a day of tours, seminars and receptions; and

WHEREAS, The 2006 Kansas Master Teachers are Vicki Lynn O'Neal, a second grade teacher at Lincoln Elementary School in Baxter Springs; Elaine Bertels Fasulo, a speech-language pathologist at Meadow Lane Elementary School in Olathe; Sherry Hutchcraft, a second grade dual-language teacher at Northwest Elementary School in Dodge City; Marilyn K. Vaughan, a first grade teacher at Cottonwood Point Elementary School in Overland Park; Bob Peterson, lead theatre instructor at Butler Community College in El Dorado; Jo Ellen Dambro, a fifth grade teacher at Lowther South Intermediate School in Emporia; and Karla S. Ewing, a fourth grade teacher at Southwest Elementary School in Pratt; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to teachers described as having "served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers"; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2006 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the seven 2006 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrated excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Vicki Lynn O'Neal, 901 Lincoln, Baxter Springs, KS 66713; Elaine Bertels Fasulo, 21880 W. 111th, Olathe, KS 66061-8706; Sherry Hutchcraft, 2100 Sixth, Dodge City, KS 67801; Marilyn K. Vaughan, 10521 W. 129th Street, Overland Park, KS 66213-3464; Bob Peterson, 901 South Haverhill Road, El Dorado, KS 67042-3280; Jo Ellen Dambro, 215 W. Sixth, Emporia, KS 66801-4099; and Karla S. Ewing, 1100 W. Eighth, Pratt, KS 67124-2141.

Senate Resolution No. 1850 was sponsored by Senators Barnett and Allen, Apple, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Emler, Francisco, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jordan, Journey, Kelly, Lee, McGinn, Morris, O'Connor, Ostmeyer, Palmer, Petersen, Pine, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle, Wilson and Wysong.

I hereby certify that the above RESOI adopted by that body	LUTION originated in the SENATE, and was
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.