## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1843

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Olathe East Senior High School girls softball team and Coach Hulse.

WHEREAS, The Olathe East Senior High School girls softball team won the 2005 Kansas State High School Activities Association class 6A championship with a three to two come from behind victory over Shawnee Mission Northwest at Lawrence on May 28. This was the culmination of a perfect 25 to 0 season. It was a repeat of a 24 to one season and the state championship for 2004 and the fourth state championship for the school; and

WHEREAS, Seven members of the team received all-state honors: Val Chapple, Casey Gorrell, Teddi Ewing, Alex Hupp, Ashlyn Smith, Ashley Guile and Kristen Rock. Additionally, Val Chapple was named the 2005 National Senior Softball Player of the Year by the National High School Coaches Association and the Gatorade Kansas Player of the Year, and Coach Hulse was named The Olathe News Female Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding softball team have received statewide recognition for their fine sportsmanship and athletic abilities; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team was due to its excellent teamwork, strong competitive spirit and determination to win. The team also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Olathe East Senior High School girls softball team and Coach Hulse upon being the Kansas High School Activities Association class 6A softball champions for the second consecutive year and wish them continued success; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Dr. Tom Barry, Principal, Olathe East Senior High School, 14545 W. 127th Street, Olathe, KS 66062-1486.

Senate Resolution No. 1843 was sponsored by Senators Karin Brownlee and Dennis Wilson.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE,

and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
-	Secretary of the Senate.