SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1834

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Lindsborg Emergency Medical Service.

WHEREAS, The Lindsborg Emergency Medical Service is completing 40 years of service to the community and surrounding areas on April 1. Initially known as the Lindsborg Volunteer Ambulance Company, the organization commenced meeting in February 1966 at the Nelson Science Building Lecture Hall on the Bethany College campus with Dr. Albert Zimmer being named as the head of the volunteer group; and

WHEREAS, Membership in the organization was open to all male residents of Lindsborg over 21 years of age. The volunteers would serve in teams with at least 14 teams being needed for efficient operation. Training sessions for drivers and attendants commenced March 3rd in the Hahn Physical Education Building; and

WHEREAS, Since at that time it was common for emergency patients to be transported to the hospital by mortuary services, the Anderson Funeral Home of Lindsborg sold its ambulance and related equipment to the city of Lindsborg for one dollar. The first ambulance run was on April 4th and by the end of the year the service had made 93 trips. By comparison, during the same period in 2001, the Lindsborg Emergency Medical Service made 284 trips of an emergency nature. Whereas as late as 1981 the cost of an ambulance run was only \$27.50, the charge in 2005 was \$250 for nonemergency service and over \$300 for an emergency trip; and

WHEREAS, Over time this organization matured and evolved. The first emergency medical technician class was organized in the fall of 1978 and graduated during February 1979. The name of the organization was changed to the Lindsborg Volunteer Ambulance Corps in the early 1970's and the service became a city department in 1988. At this time the current name of Lindsborg Emergency Medical Service was adopted. Dr. Zimmer served as the organization's director from 1966 to 1968, Cy Westman from 1968 to 1979, Jay Scott Emler from 1979 to 1985, Dr. Barney Hurlbut from 1985 to 1986, Joanne Mitchell from 1987 to 1995, Amy Fitzgerald from 1995 to 2000 and Daryl Johnson from 2000 to the present time; and

WHEREAS, The selfless efforts of those involved over the years demonstrates the best in American life—citizen volunteers giving of their time and talents to provide a needed service for their community: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Lindsborg Emergency Medical Service upon its 40th year of service to the community and recognize the selfless service of those who have been involved in this community service.

Senate Resolution No. 1834 was sponsored by Senator Jay Scott Emler.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.