## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1832

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Scott City High School boys basketball team and Coach Glenn O'Neil for winning the 2006 Class 4A State Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The Scott City High School boys basketball team won the 2006 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 4A State Basketball Championship with a thrilling 72 to 51 victory over Belle Plaine High School in the state championship game at Salina's Bicentennial Center on March 11; and

WHEREAS, The Scott City High School "Beavers" basketball team finished the season with a record of  $24~{\rm wins}$  and two losses; and

WHEREAS, The members of this team were: Drew Crist, Chance Chelemedos, David Heyd, Trace Kendrick, Gabe Acosta, Colby Dunagan, Justin Miller, Aric Reed, Corbin Kuntzsch, Tim Peintner, Ross Strube and Matt Summers; the head coach was Glenn O'Neil and the assistant coaches were Scott Holt and J. Johnson; and the team managers were Chisato Nasu, Travis Reece and Ethan Gechter; and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding basketball team have received statewide recognition for their fine sportsmanship and athletic abilities; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team was due to its excellent teamwork, strong competitive spirit and determination to win. The team also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Scott City High School boys basketball team and Coach O'Neil be congratulated and commended for winning the 2006 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 4A State Basketball Championship; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Mr. Mike Norstrom, Principal, Scott City High School, 712 Main, Scott City, KS 67871.

Senate Resolution No. 1832 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.