SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1815

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Kansas recipients of the 2005 Milken Family Foundation Educator Awards.

WHEREAS, Stanley Bergkamp, a science teacher at Maize High School, Maize USD 266, and Matt Copeland, an English teacher at Washburn Rural High School, Auburn Washburn USD 437, have been selected as the 2005 Kansas recipients of the Milken Family Foundation Educator Awards. Each will receive an unrestricted award of \$25,000 plus recognition by the recipient's community, school and peers; and

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards program was established by the Milken Family Foundation in 1985. The first Awards were presented in 1987; and

WHEREAS, The Milken Family Foundation National Educator Awards program provides public recognition and financial rewards to elementary and secondary school teachers, principals and other education professionals who are furthering excellence in education. By honoring outstanding educators, the program strives to attract, retain and motivate talented people to the challenge and adventure of teaching; and

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards are announced each fall at surprise notifications held in all-school assemblies. Foundation representatives and the chief state school officer make the announcements. This year 48 states and the District of Columbia participated in the program. By publicizing these awards our communities are reminded of the crucial, positive impact of educators. Furthermore, it is hoped these awards will attract the attention of those who might consider teaching as a rewarding career choice: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Stanley Bergkamp and Matt Copeland upon their selection as the 2005 Kansas recipients of the Milken Family Foundation Education Awards; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide two enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to the 2005 Milken Educators.

Senate Resolution No. 1815 was sponsored by Senators Vicki Schmidt and Jean Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.