## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1811

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2006 Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Thirty beginning educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Horizon Award educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Horizon Award program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program, currently in its fourth year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for a Kansas Horizon Award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Kansas Horizon Award program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's United States congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are:

Region 1: Michael Flenthrope, Marysville Jr/Sr High School, Marysville, USD 364; Angela Larson, Maynard Early Childhood Center, Emporia, USD 253; Lisa Maser, Salina High School South, Salina, USD 305; Jennifer McVey, Lincoln Elementary School, Junction City, USD 475; Jacy Murphy, Grace E. Stewart Elementary School, Salina, USD 305; Kimberlee Osenga, Fort Riley Middle School, Junction City, USD 475; and Janelle Robson, Park Elementary School, Lyons, USD 405; and

Region 2: Jolie Ann Darby, Washburn Rural Middle School, Auburn Washburn, USD 437; Tracy Homan, Fort Scott High School, Fort Scott, USD 234; Sarah Jensen, Shawnee Heights Elementary School, Shawnee Heights, USD 450; April Kohrs, Baldwin Elementary School, Baldwin City, USD 348; Gena Mathes, Elmont Elementary School, Seaman, USD 345; Lori Nelson, Prairie View High School, LaCygne, USD 362; and Erin Pittenger, Amanda Arnold Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden, USD 383; and

Region 3: Valerie Adams, Midland Trail Elementary School, Turner-Kansas City, USD 202; Kristie Apperson, Crestview Elementary School, Shawnee Mission, USD 512; Jennifer Fimmen, Lakewood Middle School, Overland Park, USD 229; Meghann Maddux, Southwest Jr. High School, Lawrence, USD 497; Kim Prier, Clark Middle School, Bonner Springs, USD 204; Kyle Sonnedecker, Sunflower Elementary School, Lawrence, USD 497; Gavin Spake, Heartland Elementary School, Overland Park, USD 229; and Cory Wurtz, Mill Valley High School, DeSoto, USD 232; and

Region 4: Livia Custer, Cheney Elementary School, Cheney, USD 268; Rochelle Gray, IXL Elementary School, Arkansas City, USD 470; Scott Lee, Meadowlark Elementary School, Andover, USD 385; Sarah Lehman, Valley Center High School, Valley Center, USD 262; Diane Moser, Maize High School, Maize, USD 266; Adam Sisson, Horace Mann Dual Language Magnet, Wichita, USD 259; Troy Smith, Burrton Middle School, Burrton, USD 369; and Sarah Tucker, Andover High School, Andover, USD 385: Now, therefore

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2006 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 30 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each educator so honored plus one copy for the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1811 was sponsored by Senator Jean Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that bod
--

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.