## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1804

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2006 Kansas Teacher of the Year Team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Department of Education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers—one elementary and one secondary—in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as Kansas Teacher of the Year, the Kansas Teacher of the Year being chosen from among the eight finalists. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded The Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities to support the mission of the program. The 2006 Kansas Teacher of the Year and finalists were honored at an awards banquet on November 19, 2005. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the event; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers presented by the ING Foundation and sponsored by Scholastic, Inc.; and

WHEREAS, The 2006 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Ronald W. Poplau, Shawnee Mission USD 512, and the regional finalists are Laurie A. Mercer, Wichita USD 259; Pamela A. Olson, Haysville USD 261; Betty A. Peterson, Nemaha Valley USD 442; Roxie Peterson, Wamego USD 320; Letitia Petitjean, Buhler USD 313; Tana Priddy, DeSoto USD 232; and Betsy Leonard Wiens, Auburn Washburn USD 437: Now, therefore,

*Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas:* That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2006 Kansas Teacher of the Year Team and wish Mr. Poplau success in the national competition; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate provide eight enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to the members of the 2006 Kansas Teacher of the Year Team.

Senate Resolution No. 1804 was sponsored by Senator John Vratil.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.