HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6032

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Washburn University Lady Blues basketball team for winning a National Collegiate Athletic Association Division II record 51 consecutive games during the 2004-05 and 2005-06 seasons.

WHEREAS, The Washburn University Lady Blues basketball team finished the 2005-06 season with a record of 32 wins and one loss, won their fourth consecutive Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association regular season championship and set the NCAA Division II record for most consecutive wins with 51; and

WHEREAS, The Washburn University Lady Blues basketball team finished the 2005-06 season as the MIAA regular season champion with a perfect 16-0 record and the MIAA postseason tournament champion; and

WHEREAS, The Washburn University Lady Blues basketball team set numerous school records including the most consecutive wins to start a season (32), and the most wins in Washburn single-season history (32); and

WHEREAS, The 2005-06 team members include: Seniors Jennifer Harris, Dani McHenry, April Roadhouse and Bojana Samardziska; Juniors Jessica Aebi, Holly Henrichs, Cindy Keeley, Megan Sullivan and Brooke Ubelaker; Sophomore Amanda Holmes; and Freshmen Kaydi Hooker, Jessica Mainz and Stephanie Wittman; and

WHEREAS, The four-year senior class of Dani McHenry and April Roadhouse had 123 wins and 12 losses over the past four years with two Elite Eight appearances, four MIAA regular season championships, three MIAA tournament championships and the first NCAA championship in any sport in Washburn's school history; and

WHEREAS, Individual player accomplishments were:

Jennifer Harris-Women's Basketball Coaches Association/Kodak NCAA Division II National Player of the Year, Women's Basketball Coaches Association/Kodak All-America Honors, Daktronics/College Sports Information Directors of America National Player of the Year, Daktronics/College Sports Information Directors of America South Central Regional Player of the Year, All-South Central Regional Tournament Team, Most Valuable Player in the MIAA, First Team All-MIAA and MIAA Tournament Most Valuable Player;

April Roadhouse-MIAA Defensive Player of the Year and All-MIAA All-defensive Team, Second Team All-MIAA;

Brooke Ubelaker-First Team All-MIAA, First Team Daktronics/College Sports Information Directors of America All-South Central Region, All-South Central Regional Team and Women's Basketball Coaches Association/Kodak NCAA Division II Honorable Mention All-American;

Additionally, Holly Henrichs, Cindy Keeley, Dani McHenry, Megan Sullivan and Brooke Ubelaker were all named to the MIAA Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Blues were coached by Ron McHenry, and he was assisted by Dustin Odum: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That the Washburn University Lady Blues basketball team and Coach McHenry be congratulated and commended for their success during the 2005-06 season and for their record of 51 consecutive victories.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the HOUSE, and was adopted by that body

Speaker of the House.

Chief Clerk of the House.