HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6031

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Kansas State University women's basketball team and head coach Deb Patterson.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State University women's basketball team defeated Marquette University to become the 2005-06 WNIT champions, the first postseason championship title in the school's history. The team finished the year with a record of 24 wins to 10 losses and was eight to eight in league play. This year was the fifth consecutive 20-win season for the team and the fifth consecutive appearance in postseason competition. The team played 19 games at Bramlage Coliseum and in five overtime games throughout the year; and

WHEREAS, The team had solid, enthusiastic fan support throughout the year. Attendance at their games averaged 6,281 per game, and the team enjoyed the support of a sellout crowd of 13,340 for the WNIT championship game, the second largest tournament crowd in WNIT history; and

WHEREAS, Junior combination guard/forward Claire Coggins was named as the Most Valuable Player of the postseason WNIT and Sophomore guard Kimberly Dietz was named to the postseason WNIT All-tournament Team. Freshman point guard Shalee Lehning became the school's all-time leader in single-season assists (189), and freshman forward Marlies Gipson set the freshman single-season record of blocked shots (62); and

WHEREAS, Head coach Deb Patterson coached her 300th game at K-State during the year and has 199 victories during her coaching career: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Kansas State University women's basketball team and head coach Deb Patterson upon being the 2006 WNIT champions and for the success the team achieved throughout the 2005-06 basketball season.

House Resolution No. 6031 was sponsored by Representative Sydney Carlin.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the House, and was adopted by that body $\,$

Speaker of the House.