SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1864

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Wichita State University women's bowling team for winning the 2005 intercollegiate bowling national championship.

WHEREAS, The Wichita State University (WSU) women's bowling team won the 2005 intercollegiate national championship in Rockford, Illinois, on April 20-24, 2005; and

WHEREAS, WSU led after 32 Baker games on day one. On day two the team defeated Erie Community College 4 games to 1 in a best of 7 series, McKendree College 4.5 games to 2.5 and Morehead State University 4 games to 2 to advance to the semi-finals. The team defeated Western Illinois 4 games to 0 in the semi-finals and West Texas A&M 2 games to 0 in the finals to win the national championship; and

WHEREAS, The WSU women's team has won seven intercollegiate bowling national championships: 1975, 1977, 1978, 1986, 1990, 1994 and 2005, and has advanced to the national tournament a record 30 times; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Gordon Vadakin has coached the team since 1978, leading them to the intercollegiate bowling national championship tournament 27 times and has coached the team to five national titles; and

WHEREAS, Women's Coach Mark Lewis and Assistant Women's Coach Kristal Scott directly coached the 2005 WSU women's team to the national championship at Rockford, Illinois; and

WHEREAS, WSU Senior Anita Manns was named to the All-American First Team and MVP of the All-American First Team, Player of the Year in Women's Collegiate Bowling, and MVP of the Intercollegiate Bowling Championship Tournament: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Wichita State University women's bowling team for winning the 2005 intercollegiate bowling national championship tournament; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Head Coach Gordon Vadakin, Assistant Head Coach Mark Lewis, Assistant Women's Coach Kristal Scott and team members Chelsie Bahr, Clara Guerrero, Caroline Lagrange, Diana Leal, Emily Maier, Anita Manns, Ruth Papa, Olivia Sandham, Cathy Westberg, Felicia Wong, Samantha Wong, and Jennifer Wright, all in care of Wichita State University, 1845 N. Fairmount, Wichita, KS 67260-0056.

Senate Resolution No. 1864 was sponsored by Senators Betts, Donovan, Journey, McGinn, Petersen, Schodorf and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.