SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1853

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2005 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2005. The seven will be honored on March 30 at Emporia State University, the sponsor of the program, with a day of tours, seminars and receptions; and

WHEREAS, The 2005 Kansas Master Teachers are Sandy Hardesty, a Washburn Rural High School social studies teacher; Mary Van Dyke, a district facilitator for gifted and talented students in grades kindergarten through eighth in Atchison; Ken Garwick, Marlatt Elementary School in Manhattan; Connie Neneman, Wilroads Gardens Elementary in Dodge City; Kathryn L. Reschke, Arbor Creek Elementary School counselor in Olathe; Kimberly Thomas, McLean Science and Technology Elementary Magnet School in Wichita and Larry Wayland, Blue Valley West High School in Overland Park; and

WHEREAS, Since Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954, 376 educators have been honored. The awards are presented annually to teachers described as having "served the profession long and well and who also typify the good qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers"; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2005 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the seven 2005 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrated excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Sandy Hardesty, Washburn Rural High School, 5900 SW 61st, Topeka, KS 66619; Mary Van Dyke, Atchison Elementary School, 825 N. 17th Street, Atchison, KS 66602; Ken Garwick, Marlatt Elementary School, 2715 Hobbs, Manhattan, KS 66502; Connie Neneman, Wilroads Gardens Elementary School, 11558 E. Main Rd., Dodge City, KS 67801; Kathryn L. Reschke, Arbor Creek Elementary School, 16150 S. Brougham, Olathe, KS 66062; Kimberly Thomas, McLean Science and Technology Elementary Magnet School, 2277 Marigold Lane, Wichita, KS 67204 and Larry Wayland, Blue Valley West High School, 16200 Antioch Road, Overland Park, KS 66085.

Senate Resolution No. 1853 was sponsored by Senators Barnett, Allen, Apple, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Emler, Francisco, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jordan, Journey, Kelly, Lee, McGinn, Morris, O'Connor, Ostmeyer, Palmer, Petersen, Pine, Pyle, Reitz, D. Schmidt, V. Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil, Wagle, Wilson and Wysong.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.