SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1846

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Washburn University Lady Blues basketball team for winning the first NCAA National Championship in school history.

WHEREAS, The Washburn University Lady Blues basketball team finished the 2004-05 season with a record of 35 wins and 2 losses and won the NCAA Division II National Championship with a 70-53 win over Seattle Pacific University in Hot Springs, Arkansas, on March 26, 2005; and

WHEREAS, The Washburn University Lady Blues basketball team finished the 2004-05 season as the Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association Regular Season Champion with a 16-2 record, the MIAA Postseason Tournament Champion and the 2005 NCAA South Central Regional Champion; and

WHEREAS, The 2004-05 team members include: Seniors Alison Garrett, Juwanna Rivers, Carla Sintra and Lora Westling; Juniors Stephanie Bouterse, Erin Menard, April Roadhouse, Jennifer Harris and Dani McHenry; Sophomores Cindy Keeley, Holly Henrichs, Brooke Ubelaker and Megan Sullivan; and

WHEREAS, The senior class of Alison Garrett, Juwanna Rivers, Carla Sintra and Lora Westling had 114 wins and 18 losses over the past four years with two Elite Eight appearances, three MIAA Regular Season Championships, two MIAA Tournament Championships and the first NCAA Championship in any sport in Washburn's school history; and

WHEREAS, Individual player accomplishments were as follows:

Carla Sintra—Most Outstanding Player at the NCAA Elite Eight, WBCA/Kodak All-America Honors, All-South Central Regional Team, Most Valuable Player in the MIAA, First Team All-MIAA;

Brooke Ubelaker—First Team All-MIAA, Second Team All-South Central Region, All-South Central Regional Team;

Lora Westling—Elite Eight All-Tournament Team; Honorable Mention All-MIAA, as well as breaking Washburn's All-Time 3-point record with 144 for her career and tied the single season record with 62;

Jennifer Harris—All-South Central Regional Tournament Most Outstanding Player, Honorable Mention All-MIAA; and

Ápril Roadhouse—All-MIAA All-Defensive Team.

Additionally, Alison Garrett, Holly Henrichs, Cindy Keeley, Carla Sintra, Megan Sullivan and Brooke Ubelaker were all named to the MIAA Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll, and the overall team grade point average was 3.13; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Blues were coached by Ron McHenry, assisted by Dustin Odum: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Washburn University Lady Blues basketball team and Coach McHenry be congratulated and commended for their success during the 2004-05 season and for being the 2004-05 NCAA Division II Women's Basketball National Champion; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide twenty-five enrolled copies of this resolution to Dr. Jerry B. Farley, President, Washburn University, 1700 College, Topeka, KS 66621.

Senate Resolution No. 1846 was sponsored by Senators Kelly, Hensley and V. Schmidt.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

 President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate