## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1841

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Tina Howe.

WHEREAS, Playwright Tina Howe will be celebrated as the 2005 Inge Festival Honoree for distinguished achievement in the American theater. She will receive the William Inge Distinguished Achievement in American Theatre Award at the 24th annual William Inge Theatre Festival from April 20 to 23 at Independence Community College; and

WHEREAS, Howe's works are renowned for her use of lyrical language and contemplate the span of emotions from romance to death, to family, to art and the very essence of life. She earned nominations for the Pulitzer Prize in Drama in 1984 for "Painting Churches" and in 1997 for "Pride's Crossing." Her play "Coastal Disturbances" earned her a nomination for Best Play in 1988. Other works include "The Nest," "Birth and after Birth," "Museum," "Approaching Zanzibar," "One Shoe Off" and "Rembrandt's Gift." Her works have premiered at the Los Angeles Actors Theatre, the New York Shakespeare Festival, the Kennedy Center, the Old Globe Theatre, Lincoln Center Theatre and the Actors Theatre of Louisville; and

WHEREAS, Among her many awards are an Obie for distinguished playwriting, two National Endowment for the Arts fellowships, a Guggenheim fellowship, an American Academy of Arts and Letters Award in Literature, an American Theatre Wing Award, the New York Drama Critics Circle Award and two honorary degrees; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Howe has imparted her expertise as visiting professor at Hunter College since 1990, has taught master classes at Columbia and Carnegie Mellon and has served on the council of the Dramatists Guild since 1990: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and applaud Tina Howe upon being selected to receive the prestigous 2005 Distinguished Achievement in American Theatre Award given at the annual William Inge Theatre Festival.

Senate Resolution No. 1841 was sponsored by Senator Derek Schmidt.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.