SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1838

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2004 Hanston High School football team.

WHEREAS, The Hanston High School Elks defeated the Sylvan Grove Mustangs 56 to 6 at Russell on November 20, 2004, to become the 2004 8man Division II state football champions. The team finished the season with a record of 13 wins and zero losses with 11 of the games being terminated by the 45 point mercy rule; and

WHEREAS, The Hanston Elks have won a total of six state championships in football out of nine appearances in the championship game. Two thousand four was the seventh consecutive year the Hanston team played in the state championship game. This year they outscored their opponents 688 to 120. During the past seven seasons the team has a record of 85 wins to 3 losses with the only losses being at state championship games. Since the team's first championship in 1989 the team has a record of 159 wins and 26 losses, and they have won their district 14 times, bi-district 13 times, regional 9 times, sub-state 9 times and the state championship 6 times; and

WHEREAS, Hanston High School football coach Jerry Slaton has coached his teams to a 234-73 record over 29 seasons. Coach Slaton's overall career record stands at 250-79, with a winning percentage of 76%. The Hanston High School football teams coached by Jerry Slaton have a play-off record of 40-12 (77%), and teams coached by Jerry Slaton have gone undefeated five times during his tenure: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2004 Hanston High School football team and head coach Jerry Slaton upon being the 2004 8-man Division II state football champions; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Gary Walker, Superintendent, Hanston High School, P.O. Box 219, Hanston, KS 67849-0219.

Senate Resolution No. 1838 was sponsored by Senator Janis K. Lee.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.