## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1824

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2004 Victoria High School football team.

WHEREAS, The Victoria High School football team won its first 8-man Division I state championship by defeating the Baileyville B&B team 30 to 28 in the championship game played at Russell on November 20. After falling behind in the first quarter, the team evened the match with the score of 22 to 22 at the half. After a tightly contested third quarter, the team played tough defense in the fourth quarter to finish the game as the 2004 champions; and

WHEREAS, The Victoria Knights entered the game with a record of 9 wins to 3 losses whereas the Baileyville B&B Falcons were undefeated and the defending champions. The Knights were not intimidated by the Falcons as they had to defeat another undefeated team, the Kensington Goldbugs, to play in the championship game; and

WHEREAS, The team won its last state championship in 1988 when they played 11-man football; and

WHEREAS, The members of this team were Jared VonFeldt, Parker Wilson, Jeff Brull, Jae McLaren, Clayton Hoffman, Casey Geist, James Brungardt, Lance Schmidtberger, Jason Kuhn, Cade Scott, Cody VonLintel, Lyle Hammerschmidt, Jared Pfeifer, Cory Dreiling, Tyson Dreiling, Skylor Flaska, Nic Conroy, Jeremy Lapka, Trevor Dinkel, Ross Hammerschmidt, Greg Sander, Steven Rohleder, Cole Dreiling, Taylor Lang and Jake Karlin; the head coach was Chris Windholz and the assistant coaches were Kurt Dinkel and Doug Oberle: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2004 Victoria High School football team and head coach Chris Windholz upon their first 8-man Division I championship and wish the team continued success; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Michael Kreller, Principal, Victoria High School, P.O. Box 20, Victoria, KS 67671.

Senate Resolution No. 1824 was sponsored by Senator Janis K. Lee.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

 President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.