SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1816

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2005 Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Thirty-one beginning educators from across the State have been named as Kansas Horizon Award educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Horizon Award program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Horizon Award program, currently in its third year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for a Horizon Award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Horizon Award program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's U.S. Congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are:

Region 1: Melinda Blackwill, O'Loughlin Elementary School, Hays USD 489; Nikki Boden, Salina South High School, Salina USD 305; Dena Foutch, Meadowlark Ridge Elementary School, Salina USD 305; Heather Hagstrum, Morris Hill Elementary School, Ft. Riley USD 475; Hilarie Hecox, Buhler High School, Buhler USD 313; David King, Southeast of Saline, Gypsum USD 306; Rebecca Lentz, Junction City High School, Junction City USD 475; Vivian Sabatos, Lincoln Elementary School, McPherson USD 418;

Region 2: James Fox, Fort Scott High School, Fort Scott USD 234; Adam Feagins, Eugene Ware Elementary School, Fort Scott USD 234; Luke Lang, Holton High School, Holton USD 336; Kyleigh Lohmeyer, Washburn Rural Middle School, Topeka USD 437; Adriane Mercer, Baldwin Elementary School, Baldwin City USD 348; Hillary Raple, Basehor Elementary School, Basehor USD 458; Taryn Temple, Royal Valley High School, Hoyt USD 337; and

Region 3: Deena Amont, Lawrence High School, Lawrence USD 497; Natalie Goodwin, Mill Valley High School, Shawnee USD 232; Randall Holt, South Park Elementary School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Rebecca Kling, Indian Valley Elementary School, Overland Park USD 229; Kathy Meert, Blue Valley Northwest High School, Overland Park USD 229; Amy Pierce, Edgerton Elementary School, Edgerton USD 231; Suzanne Rice, Wheatridge Middle School, Gardner USD 231; Libby Whittle, Edwardsville Elementary School, Edwardsville USD 204; and

Region 4: Brandon Bellesine, Douglass High School, Douglass USD 396; Elizabeth Bellinger, Truesdell Middle School, Wichita USD 259; Heidi Bowen, Jefferson Elementary School, Wichita USD 259; Staci Brown, Maize High School, Maize USD 266; Debra Cole, The Independent School, Wichita Secondary; Megan Goff, Grandview Elementary School, El Dorado USD 490; Matthew Skillen, Maize South Middle School, Wichita USD 266; Christina Swedberg, Ewalt Elementary School, Augusta USD 402: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2005 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to each educator so honored and to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1816 was sponsored by Senators Schodorf, Allen, Apple, Lee, McGinn, Ostmeyer, Pine, Steineger and Teichman.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.