SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1815

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2004 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers.

WHEREAS, Twenty-nine of Kansas' finest educators have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers. They will be recognized as such at a program on February 10; and

WHEREAS, The 2004 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers are: Pamela Amott, Levy Special Education Center, Wichita USD 259; Nancy Bohler, Campus High School, Haysville USD 261; Kathryn Brooks, Eugene Field Elementary School, Ottawa USD 290; Jennifer Collins, Cedar Creek Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Sonda Copeland, Manhattan High School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Stacy Cordes, Meade Elementary School, Meade USD 226; Mary Drake, Mission Trail Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Lori Franklin, Green Springs Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Valerie Golden, Blue Valley North High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Susan Hagedorn, Hanover Elementary School, Barnes USD 223; Mary Harmon, Schilling Elementary School, Salina USD 305; Melody Head, Dodge City Middle School, Dodge City USD 443; Patricia Jennings, Kathryn O'Loughlin McCarthy Elementary School, Hays USD 489; Denine Larson, Kathryn O'Loughlin McCarthy Elementary School, Hays USD 489; Patricia Mairs, Harmony Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Colleen Markman, Ridgeview Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Marian McHugh, Bentwood Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Nancy Musselman, Silver Lake Elementary School, Silver Lake USD 372; Frederick Nelson, Manhattan High School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Elizabeth Pope, Bentwood Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Georgia Ransone, Silver Lake Elementary School, Silver Lake USD 372; Sabrina Rauer, M. E. Pearson Elementary School, Kansas City USD 500; Julie Ross, Silver Lake Elementary School, Silver Lake USD 372; Victoria Seeger, Pleasant Hill Elementary School, Seaman USD 345; Sheryl Smith, Buhler High School, Buhler USD 313; Debra Stewart, Pleasant Hill Elementary School, Seaman USD 345; Susan Swanson, Pleasant Hill Elementary School, Seaman USD 345; Lori Thompson, Woodrow Wilson Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden ÚSD 383; Josephine Ward, Leawood Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, a voluntary process established by the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, is a symbol of professional teaching excellence. It is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practice. Through a series of assessments teachers demonstrate their subject matter knowledge, provide evidence that they know how to teach their subjects to students most effectively, and demonstrate their ability to manage and measure student learning; and

WHEREAS, The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and nongovernment organization. Its mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; and advocating related education reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend each of these outstanding educators who have attained the status of National Board Certified Teachers; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to each of the teachers so honored plus a copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1815 was sponsored by Senators Schodorf, Allen, Apple, Lee, McGinn, Ostmeyer, Pine, Steineger and Teichman.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.