## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1812

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Washburn University on the occasion of the school's 140th anniversary.

WHEREAS, Washburn University was incorporated on February 6, 1865, as Lincoln College; and

WHEREAS, The charter of Lincoln College afforded all individuals, without distinction of race or gender, the advantages of a liberal education, thus fitting them for positions of responsibility and usefulness; and

WHEREAS, Lincoln College was renamed Washburn College to honor a major donor, Ichabod Washburn of Worcester, Massachusetts, who became the inspiration for the school's mascot, The Ichabod, one of the most unique in the nation; and

WHEREAS, Washburn College was a private college until 1941, when the citizens of Topeka endorsed the school by voting to establish a municipal university governed by a local board of regents; and

WHEREAS, Washburn University has received state funds since 1961 and has been coordinated by the Kansas Board of Regents since 1991. Today it is a publicly funded, independently governed, state coordinated university; and

WHEREAS, The Washburn campus was severely damaged in a tornado in 1966 but was reconstructed through the dedication of faculty, staff, students, alumni and friends and today boasts modern facilities which encompass more than one million square feet; and

WHEREAS, The academic programs have evolved to meet the needs of the students, with the School of Law established in 1903; the College of Arts and Sciences, which evolved from the College of Liberal Arts, in 1971; the School of Business in 1971; the School of Nursing in 1974; and the School of Applied Studies in 1983; and

WHEREAS, The university boasts more than 30,000 alumni, with Washburn graduates residing in every county in Kansas and in every state in the United States; and

WHEREAS, Washburn has produced many leaders among its alumni including the first woman treasurer of the United States, a candidate for United States President and the first nobel laureate to graduate from a Kansas university; and

WHEREAS, The enrollment of Washburn University has increased 25 percent in the past five years, with a record enrollment of 7,400 for the fall 2004 semester; and

WHEREAS, Washburn offers more than 190 programs leading to certification, associate, bachelor, master's and juris doctor degrees through the College of Arts and Sciences and the Schools of Applied Studies, Business, Law and Nursing; and

WHEREAS, Washburn is home to the Mulvane Art Museum, the oldest accredited art museum west of the Mississippi River, and KTWU, the first public television station in Kansas; and

WHEREAS, Washburn University has received a top 10 rating among midwestern public master's level universities in the U.S. News & World Report's America's Best College ranking for each of the past four years: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That Washburn University be congratulated and commended for a 140 year tradition of providing quality education; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate provide five enrolled copies of this resolution to Dr. Jerry B. Farley, President, Washburn University, 1700 SW College Ave., Topeka, KS 66621.

Senate Resolution No. 1812 was sponsored by Senators Kelly, V. Schmidt and Hensley.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.