SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1806

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Washburn University football team and Coach Craig Schurig for their success during the 2004 season and for being the Mineral Water Bowl Champion.

WHEREAS, The Washburn University football team finished the 2004 season with a record of 8 wins and 4 losses including 6 wins and 3 losses during conference competition. The Ichabods finished with their highest MIAA Conference finish since joining the league in 1989. The team recorded their highest win total since 1988 and became only the 7th Ichabod team in 114 years of football competition to record 8 wins. The Ichabod football team became the 2004 Mineral Water Bowl Champion by beating Northern State University 36 to 33 on December 4, 2004; and

WHEREAS, The 2004 Ichabod captains were senior quarterback Tyler Schuerman, senior offensive lineman Tyrone Barrett, junior linebacker Grant Gould and junior wide receiver Mike Odupitan; and

WHEREAS, Individual player accomplishments were as follows:

Curtis Massey-first team all-MIAA punter

Sam Sissom—second team all-MIAA wide receiver and second team all-region Rudy Su'e—second team all-MIAA offensive lineman

Trey Lewis—second team all-MIAA defensive tackle

Fletcher Terrell—second team all-MIAA defensive back

Tyler Schuerman-honorable mention all-MIAA quarterback

Ra' Shawn Mosley-honorable mention all-MIAA runningback

Mike Odupitan—honorable mention all-MIAA wide receiver

Rashawn Bland—honorable mention all-MIAA fullback

Tyrone Barrett—honorable mention all-MIAA offensive lineman

Grant Gould—honorable mention all-MIAA linebacker

Adam Azeltine, Evin Beck, Ben Boswell, Matt Durler, Zach Hemmerling, Dustin Hickel, Joseph Leiker, Josh Looney, Pat Mack, Chris McCann, Blake Meyer and Tyler Schuerman were named to the MIAA Commissioner's Academic Honor Roll; and

Matt Durler was named first team Academic All-Region; and

WHEREAS, The Ichabods were coached by Craig Schurig, Brian Miller, Chris Brown, Cooper Harris, Rob Robinson, David Trupp, Dion Meneley, Cassidy McCrite, Justin Schrieber and Zach Nally: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Washburn University Ichabod football team and Coach Schurig be congratulated and commended for their success during the 2004 season and for being the 2004 Mineral Water Bowl Champion; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Dr. Jerry B. Farley, President, Washburn University, 1700 College, Topeka, Kansas 66621.

Senate Resolution No. 1806 was sponsored by Senators Kelly, V. Schmidt and Hensley.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.