House Concurrent Resolution No. 5029

By Committee on Environment (By request of Select Joint Committee on Energy)

1-18

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION urging the United States Congress to prohibit the use of methyl tertiary butyl ether as an additive in gasoline by January 1, 2010.

WHEREAS, Methyl tertiary butyl ether (MTBE), a derivative of natural gas, has been used as an octane booster in gasoline, following the phase-out of leaded gasoline; and

WHEREAS, MTBE is added to reformulated gasoline in order to comply with federally mandated efforts to improve air quality in the nation's most polluted areas and to reduce emissions of benzene and other ozone-forming aromatic compounds associated with gasoline; and

WHEREAS, The United States Environmental Protection Agency lists MTBE as a possible human carcinogen; and

WHEREAS, MTBE, leaking from underground storage tanks and discharged as unburned fuel from two-stroke motorboats and jet skis, migrates readily to water supplies; and

WHEREAS, The compound poses a significant risk of contaminating water supplies, including groundwater sources; and

WHEREAS, MTBE has unique chemical properties that make it highly soluble and allow it to migrate through drinking water supplies, giving the water a turpentine odor in minute quantities; and

WHEREAS, MTBE does not degrade as readily as other gasoline additives, which creates significant clean-up and remediation costs at contaminated sites; and

WHEREAS, Ethanol-blended gasoline is an environmentally safe oxygenate enhancer that may be used in reformulated gasoline in order to comply with the requirements of the federal Clean Air Act: Now, therefore.

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas, the Senate concurring therein: That the State of Kansas urges the United States Congress act to prohibit use of MTBE as an additive in gasoline sold in this nation by January 1, 2010; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of State is directed to send enrolled copies of this resolution to the President of the United States,

- the Administrator of the United States Environmental Protection Agency,
- 2 the President of the Senate of the United States, the Speaker of the
- 3 House of Representatives of the United States and each member of the
- 4 Kansas Congressional Delegation.