SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1843

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Quinter High School boys basketball team and Coach John Crist for winning the 2004 Class 2A State Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The Quinter High School boys basketball team won the 2004 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 2A State Basketball Championship with a thrilling 47 to 46 victory over Pittsburg-Colgan in the state championship game at Manhattan on March 13; and

WHEREAS, The Quinter High School "Bulldogs" basketball team finished the season undefeated with a record of 27 wins and 0 losses. The team defeated St. Marys 70 to 55 in the quarterfinal game and Syracuse 59 to 47 in the semifinal game. The team members were Blaine Walt, Jay Corwin, Grady Kesler, Ben Machen, Tyler Reed, Ross Benisch, Sage Hemmert, Trevor Blackwill, Peter Eikenberry, Cameron Anderson, Patrick Hargitt and Craig Finger. The head coach was John Crist, and Brian Roesch and Bart Briggs were assistant coaches: and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding basketball team have received statewide recognition for their fine sportsmanship and athletic abilities; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team was due to its excellent teamwork, strong competitive spirit and determination to win. The team also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Quinter High School boys basketball team and Coach Crist be congratulated and commended for winning the 2004 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 2A State Basketball Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 16 enrolled copies of this resolution to Gary Feldkamp, Principal, Quinter High School, 600 Long Street, Quinter, KS 67752.

Senate Resolution No. 1843 was sponsored by Senator Stan Clark.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

 President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.