SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1837

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Jetmore High School football team.

WHEREAS, The Jetmore High School football team won the 2003 Kansas State High School Activities Association 8 man division 1 State Football Championship with a thrilling 42 to 30 victory over Baileyville High School in the state championship game. The team defeated Victoria 46 to 0 in the regional game and South Barber 32 to 0 in the sub State game to get to the championship game; and

WHEREAS, The Jetmore High School "Longhorns" football team finished the season with a record of 13 wins and 0 losses. The team had 4400 yards of total offense compared to 1397 yards for its opponents and was unscored upon in the fourth quarter of any game; and

WHEREAS, The Jetmore High School football team was coached by head coach Kevin Ayers and assistant coaches Chad Cohoon and Russell Hunt. The players were Matt Balman, Nick Goebel, Randy Rudzik, Kade Sherrill, Ryan Haug, Brian Younker, Bryant Briggs, Mitchell Burns, Jeremy Appel, Chaz Beckwith, Matthew Burns, Ryan Charles, Jarrett Arnold, Rustin Wilson, Chris Bamberger, Adam Burks, Jacob Tarman, Daniel Cossman, Josh Burns, Beau Schauvliege, Lee Stairrett, Craig Ford and Nick Jacobs and the team managers were Roger Bach, Lee Webb and Kirk Hansen; and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding football team have received statewide recognition for their fine sportsmanship and athletic abilities; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team is due to excellent teamwork, strong competitive spirit and determination to win plus the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Jetmore High School football team and Coaches Ayers, Cohoon and Hunt be congratulated and commended for winning the 2003 Kansas State High School Activities Association 8 man division 1 State Football Championship in Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide five enrolled copies of this resolution to Randall Jansonius, Superintendent, Jetmore High School, U.S.D. 227, P.O. Box 100, Jetmore, Kansas 67854.

Senate Resolution No. 1837 was sponsored by Senator Larry D. Salmans.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body $\,$

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.