SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1833

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Hanston High School boys basketball team and Coach Oliver Salmans for winning the 2004 Class 1A State Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The Hanston High School boys basketball team won the 2004 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 1A State Basketball Championship with a thrilling overtime victory of 50 to 44 over Frankfort High School in the state championship game at Hays on March 13: and

WHEREAS, The Hanston High School "Elks" basketball team finished the season with a record of 26 wins and 2 losses; and

WHEREAS, The members of the team were Simeon Seiler, Eric Dvorak, Cody Howe, Bret Wilkens, Gilbert Thayer, Drew Holmes, Andy Thayer, Levi Salmans, Joe Broz, Austin Rogers, Ben Wilkens, Joe Dvorak, Dwayne Doyle, Dustin Horacek, Phillip Broz, Dustin Thacker and Darren Rogers. The head coach was Oliver Salmans who was assisted by Travis Torkelson; and

WHEREAS, The members of this outstanding basketball team have received statewide recognition for their fine sportsmanship and athletic abilities; and

WHEREAS, The success of this team was due to its excellent teamwork, strong competitive spirit and determination to win. The team also had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the players' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Hanston High School boys basketball team and Coach Salmans be congratulated and commended for winning the 2004 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 1A State Basketball Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Gary Walker, Principal, Hanston High School, 203 N. West Street, Hanston, KS 67849-0219.

Senate Resolution No. 1833 was sponsored by Senator Larry D. Salmans.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE,

and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.