SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1816

A RESOLUTION observing February 18 as Armed Forces Appreciation Day.

WHEREAS, The State of Kansas has a proud tradition of military service to the nation, both in times of war and peace, having proudly given its sons and daughters into the service of the nation; and

WHEREAS, Guardsmen, reservists and active duty personnel from across Kansas are currently supporting operations in Iraq, Kuwait, Afghanistan, Kosova, Bosnia-Herzegovina and other places around the world, while their families unselfishly endure on the homefront; and

WHEREAS, Members of the armed forces fought for and provided the independence under which our country was conceived, and have continued for over 227 years to protect the freedom we enjoy; and

WHEREAS, The State of Kansas recognizes the significant impact the armed forces has on the State's history and the continued economic and social contributions the armed forces provide for Kansas; and

WHEREAS, It is important to maintain close and effective cooperation among the various military installations, state and local governments and the private sector to facilitate the enhancement and continued strengthening of these facilities; and

WHEREAS, The Governor's Military Affairs Coordinating Council has been established to facilitate statewide activities in support of the various branches of the armed forces and the military installations located in Kansas: Now, therefore.

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we express our appreciation for those currently serving in all branches of the service, the National Guard and Reserve Forces plus military retirees and veterans, and recognize their dedicated service to this state and nation by observing February 18 as Armed Forces Appreciation Day.

Senate Resolution No. 1816 was sponsored by Senators Oleen, Adkins, Allen, Barnett, Barone, Betts, Brownlee, Brungardt, Buhler, Bunten, Clark, Corbin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Gilstrap, Goodwin, Haley, Helgerson, Hensley, Huelskamp, Jackson, Jordan, Journey, Kerr, Lee, Lyon, Morris, O'Connor, Pugh, Salmans, Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Tyson, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.