SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1813

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2004 Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Twenty-eight beginning educators from across the State have been named as Kansas Horizon Award educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Horizon Award program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Horizon Award program, currently in its second year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for a Horizon Award, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Horizon Award program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's U.S. Congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are:

Region 1: Bianca Alvarez, Northwest Elementary School, USD 443 Dodge City; Erica Bammes, Natoma Elementary School, USD 399 Paradise; Krystal Breese, Southeast of Saline Elementary School, USD 306 Southeast of Saline; Barbara Browne, Junction City Middle School, USD 475 Geary County; Lawrence Chaney, McPherson High School, USD 418 McPherson; Sheila Howard, Dodge City Middle School, USD 443 Dodge City; Adam North, Stockton High School, USD 271 Stockton; Allison Shoop Rothwell, Westwood Elementary School, USD 475 Geary County;

Region 2: Dee Anne Anderson, Manhattan High School, USD 383 Manhattan; Jeffrey Armstrong,

Region 2: Dee Anne Anderson, Manhattan High School, USD 383 Manhattan; Jeffrey Armstrong, Fort Scott High School, USD 234 Fort Scott; Jerrod Bohn, Washburn Rural High School, USD 437 Auburn-Washburn; Kristen L'Ecuyer, Jay Shideler Elementary School, USD 437 Auburn-Washburn; Melissa Reves, Onaga Grade School, USD 322 Onaga-Havensville-Wheaton; Jessica Starr, Pleasant Hill Elementary School, USD 345 Seaman; Kathryn Thompson, Atchison Middle School, USD 409 Atchison; Amber Wheeler, Royster Middle School, USD 413 Chanute;

Region 3: Ashley Becker, Regency Place Elementary School, USD 233 Olathe; Jim Brockway, Gardner Elementary School, USD 231 Gardner-Edgerton; Amanda Gibb, Overland Trail Elementary School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Kelsey Kokoruda, Mill Valley High School, USD 232 DeSoto; Jason Peres, Blue Valley High School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Amy Reed, Olathe North High School, USD 233 Olathe; Marcia Riggins, Sunflower Elementary School, USD 497 Lawrence; Erin Stewart, Central Junior High School, USD 497 Lawrence; and

Region 4: Julie Baalmann, Amelia Earhart Elementary School, USD 265 Goddard; Elaine Gruenbacher, Clearwater High School, USD 264 Clearwater; Tim Hayden, Meadowlark Elementary School, USD 385 Andover; Katie Parks, Eisenhower Middle School, USD 265 Goddard: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2004 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 30 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Umbarger.

Senate Resolution No. 1813 was sponsored by Senators Umbarger, Bunten, Corbin, Downey, Emler, Hensley, Journey, Lee, Oleen, Schodorf, Teichman and Vratil.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that

body	
	<u></u>
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.