SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1810

A RESOLUTION in recognition of the Kansas Mission of Mercy.

WHEREAS, Kansas dentists are caring and compassionate people; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Mission of Mercy dental charity project was organized by the Kansas Dental Association through the Kansas Dental Charitable Foundation with funds from dentists, private foundations and other private sources; and

WHEREAS, Five hundred seventy-four total volunteers, including 81 dentists, 51 dental hygienists and 85 dental assistants provided \$554,000 in dental care to 1,734 patients at the Finney County Fairgrounds in Garden City on February 28 through March 2, 2003; and

WHEREAS, Eight hundred sixty-three total volunteers, including 207 dentists, 128 dental hygienists and 153 dental assistants provided \$758,455 in dental care to 2,659 patients at the Kansas Speedway in Kansas City on August 22 through 24, 2003; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Mission of Mercy dental charity project will continue in the future and currently is scheduled to be held on the campus of Pittsburg State University on April 30 through May 2, 2004, and later in Salina; and

WHEREAS. The Kansas Mission of Mercy is the largest free dental clinic in the world; and

WHEREAS, The strength, success, vitality and health of Kansas citizens and its communities depend in great measure upon volunteerism, and concerned and devoted programs such as the Kansas Mission of Mercy: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That the Kansas Mission of Mercy dental charity project and its volunteers be recognized and thanked for their ongoing generosity for providing free dental care to the citizens of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to the Kansas Dental Association and the Kansas Dental Charitable Foundation, both at 5200 S.W. Huntoon Street, Topeka, KS 66604.

Senate Resolution No. 1810 was sponsored by Senators Stephen R. Morris and David Haley.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.