SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1809

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2003 Kansas State University Collegiate Crops team.

WHEREAS, The 2003 Kansas State University Collegiate Crops team won its fifth consecutive national championship. The team was composed of Mike Epler of Columbus; Cole Taylor of Jewell; and Chris Pachta of Linn and was coached by Gerry Posler. All of the team members are seniors majoring in agronomy; and

WHEREAS, The national crop judging contest is held annually in November and consists of two parts: The regional competition in Kansas City and the national event in Chicago. Participants are required to identify more than 200 different plants or seed samples of crops and grains; grain grading, which involves the examination of eight different samples of grain, as well as determining the grade of grain according to federal grain inspection standards; and seed analysis, which requires the competitors to determine whether seed samples contain impurities, and if so, what contaminants exist; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Pachta was the high individual overall at the Kansas City competition and Mr. Taylor was the high individual overall at Chicago. A unique feature of this competition is that participants on the previous year's top three teams are ineligible to compete in succeeding years. Thus, for the past five years, the Kansas State University Collegiate Crops team has been composed of new competitors, competitors who each year have worked hard to retain the championship at Kansas State University; and

WHEREAS, Sponsors for the team were the Kansas Seed Industry Association, the Kansas Crop Improvement Association, the K-State Student Governing Association and the Department of Agronomy: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Kansas State University Collegiate Crops team and its coach for winning its fifth consecutive national championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send one enrolled copy of this resolution to Dr. Jon Wefald, President, Kansas State University, 110 Anderson Hall, Manhattan, KS 66506-7083 and seven copies to Gerry Posler, 3107 Throckmorton Hall, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS 66506 for appropriate recognition of this championship team.

Senate Resolution No. 1809 was sponsored by Senators Oleen, Barone, Downey, Huelskamp, Schmidt, Taddiken and Umbarger.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE,

and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.