SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1803

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2004 Kansas Teacher of the Year Team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Department of Education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers—one elementary and one secondary—in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as Kansas Teacher of the Year, the Kansas Teacher of the Year being chosen from among the eight finalists. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded The Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities to support the mission of the program. The 2004 Kansas Teacher of the Year and finalists were honored at an awards banquet in Wichita on November 22, 2003. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the event; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program sponsored by the Council of Chief State School Officers and Scholastic, Inc; and

WHEREAS, The 2004 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Keil E. Hileman II, Desoto School District USD 232, and the regional finalists are Connie Ferree, Emporia School District USD 253; Sandra Grote, Blue Valley School District USD 229; Patrick Lamb, Manhattan School District USD 383; Greg Mittman, Valley Center School District USD 262; Vicki O'Neal, Baxter Springs School District USD 508; Kimberly Thomas, Wichita School District USD 259; and Erin Vancil, McPherson School District USD 418: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2004 Kansas Teacher of the Year Team and wish Mr. Hileman success in the national competition; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide eight enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to the members of the 2004 Kansas Teacher of the Year Team.

Senate Resolution No. 1803 was sponsored by Senators Umbarger, Barnett, Betts, Brownlee, Bunten, Corbin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Helgerson, Hensley, Jordan, Lee, O'Connor, Oleen, Schodorf, Teichman, Vratil and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.