## HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 6042

A RESOLUTION in memory of Mary Emily Taylor.

WHEREAS, Mary Emily Taylor, 89, of Lawrence, died May 1 at Lawrence; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Taylor was Dean of Women at the University of Kansas from 1956 to 1975, then Director of the Office of Women in Higher Education of the American Council on Education in Washington, D.C. The Emily Taylor Women's Resource Center at the University of Kansas was named in her honor; and

WHEREAS, She received an associate degree from Urbana Junior College, bachelor's and master's degrees from Ohio State University and a doctorate from Indiana University; and

WHEREAS, She received honorary doctorates from Seattle University and Urbana University, the KU Distinguished Service Citation, Citizen of the Years from the Lawrence Chamber of Commerce, Substantial Citizen Award from Kiwanis, Don Volker Award from Leadership Lawrence, Paul Harris Award from the Rotary Club, KANU Recognition Award for distinguished service to public radio and the Soroptomist Club award for service to women; and

WHEREAS, She was inducted into the KU Women's Hall of Fame, Ohio Women's Hall of Fame, Urbana University's Hall of Excellence and the Private Colleges of Ohio Foundation Hall of Distinction. She worked on women's and elderly issues and was a public member of the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts. She helped form the Caring Community Council dedicated to death with dignity; and

WHEREAS, Survivors include a sister, Genevieve McMahon, of Lawrence; two nephews and two nieces: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas: That we extend our deepest sympathy to the family and many friends of Mary Emily Taylor and express our appreciation for the guidance, exemplary leadership and advocacy for the equality of women she provided to the University of Kansas, the Lawrence community, the state of Kansas and to our nation.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the House, and was adopted by that body  $\,$ 

	Speaker of the House.
	Chief Clerk of the House.