## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1873

A RESOLUTION recognizing 2003 as the centennial year of the Medical Society of Sedgwick County.

WHEREAS. Physicians were among the earliest residents in Sedgwick county, arriving in 1867; and

WHEREAS, These pioneer doctors treated the sick and injured, stopped epidemics, built hospitals, held public office, owned businesses and helped Wichita grow into a thriving community; and

WHEREAS, The Medical Society of Sedgwick County was founded in 1903 with 25 members who considered meeting the medical needs of the local citizens to be the "noblest of all professions"; and

WHEREAS, The Medical Society of Sedgwick County is a not-for-profit organization representing physicians in Wichita and Sedgwick county and dedicated to advancing scientific-based medicine, professional standards and medical ethics; and

WHEREAS, The Medical Society of Sedgwick County collaborates with local and state governments and community groups to benefit the citizens of Wichita and Sedgwick county through programs such as project access, the medical service bureau, EMS medical protocols and quality assurance, prescription fraud prevention, medical utilization review and a health care provider network; and

WHEREAS, During 2003, the Medical Society of Sedgwick County and its 1,078 members are recognizing a century of unwavering commitment to the health and well-being of the community: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That it recognizes the year 2003 as the Medical Society of Sedgwick County's centennial year and all past and present members of the medical society for their achievements and service to Wichita and Sedgwick county during the past 100 years;

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide an enrolled copy of this resolution to Dr. Joe D. Davison, President, Medical Society of Sedgwick County, 1102 S. Hillside, Wichita, KS 67211.

Senate Resolution No. 1873 was sponsored by Senators Wagle, Corbin, Donovan, Downey, Emler, Feleciano, Gooch, Goodwin, Harrington, Kerr and Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was

adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.