SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1861

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Wichita State University Men's Bowling Team for winning the 2003 Intercollegiate Bowling National Championship.

WHEREAS, The Wichita State University (WSU) Men's Bowling Team won the 2003 Intercollegiate National Championship in Tulsa, Oklahoma, on April 23-26, 2003; and

WHEREAS, WSU beat defending champion Western Illinois 4 games to 3 in a best of 7 series after being down 3 games to 1 and beat California State University-Fullerton 4.5 games to 3.5 in a tie breaking 8th game and had to beat California State University-Fullerton again 4 games to 2 to advance out of the contender's bracket and defeated Morehead State University 2 games to 1 to win the National Championship; and

WHEREAS, The WSU Men's team has won seven Intercollegiate Bowling National Championships in 1980, 1987, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1998 and 2003; and

WHEREAS, Coach Gordon Vadakin has coached the team since 1978, leading them to the Intercollegiate Bowling National Championship Tournament 23 times and has coached the team to seven national titles; and

WHEREAS, WSU junior Sean Rash was named to the All-Tournament team: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Wichita State University Men's Bowling Team for winning the 2003 Intercollegiate Bowling National Championship Tournament; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to send enrolled copies of this resolution to Head Coach Gordon Vadakin, Assistant Head Coach Mark Lewis, Assistant Men's Coach Lonnie Waliczek and team members Nathan Bohr, Mark Buffa, A.J. DeMond, Chris Greene, Scott How, Tony Johnson, Joe Keltner, Aaron Koch, Sean Rash, Kevin Tabron, Russ Wilson and Derrick Woods, all in care of Wichita State University, 1845 N. Fairmont, Wichita, Kansas 67260-0056.

Senate Resolution No. 1861 was sponsored by Senators U.L. (Rip) Gooch and Jean Schodorf.

I hereby certify that the above RESOLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.